Standards - Overview


GLOBALG.A.P. offers 3 pre-farmgate certification/assessment standards for producers in North America.


Integrated Farm Assurance  |  Produce Safety Standard  |  Primary Farm Assurance

Standards Comparison  |  Standards Documents

Benefits for Producers  |  Benefits for Retailers  |  Product List


1)  Integrated Farm Assurance (IFA)  (Accredited Certification, GFSI Recognized for IFA-Crops-Fruit & Vegetables)

Our domestically and internationally recognized, flagship standard that provides comprehensive certification:


2)  Produce Safety Standard (PSS)  (Accredited Certification, GFSI Recognized)

Our domestic standard for fruit and vegetables that certifies food safety and traceability/segregation (*):

  • Subset of IFA that offers producers the potential to upgrade to IFA over time
  • Our implementation and extension of the Harmonized Standard


3)  Primary Farm Assurance (PFA)  (Non-Accredited Assessment)

  • Our entry-level fruit and vegetables standard for local and domestic markets that assesses food safety
  • Aligned with the Harmonized Standards


IFA-Crops-Fruit & Vegetables and PSS are GFSI Recognised Schemes (GFSI Guidance Document Sixth Edition, BI and D Scopes).


IFA, PSS and PFA are available to individual producers and producer groups via our Certification and Assessment Options


GLOBALG.A.P. also offers specialized standards and optional add-on modules:

  1. Chain of Custody (CoC)
  2. Compound Feed Manufacturing (CFM)
  3. Livestock Transport (LT)
  4. Plant Propagation Material (PPM)
  5. GLOBALG.A.P. Risk Assessment on Social Practice (GRASP Add-on) - Worker Welfare - Brochure
  6. Animal Welfare Add-On
  7. Responsible Water Use Add-on - Under Development


GLOBALG.A.P. Standards are subject to a 3-year revision cycle of continuous improvement to take technological and market developments into account.


Standards Development  |  Standard Setting Procedure